October Luncheon Photos with Wood Selig, Athletic Director of ODU

Photos by Chesapeake Sports Club Member Linda Allen Clifton

November 10th Luncheon Meeting

Dave Twardzik

Speaking November 10th is Dave Twardzik, Old Dominion University’s initial first team All-American basketball player after leading the Monarchs to the runner-up honors in the 1971 NCAA Division II national championships.

Twardzik inspired his teammates to 56 victories in three years before going on to spark the Portland Trailblazers to the 1976-77 National Basketball Association championship. In between, the 6-1 guard proved himself in professional basketball with the American basketball Association’s Virginia Squires.

The former Monarch captain, whose number 14 was retired in 1972, passes out 880 assists for a career record and scored 1,660 points while triggering the Monarchs fast break attack. He also established career records by making 548 free throws out of 686 attempted.

Twardzik first made the All-America ranks on the NABC third team in 1970-71 season. Other honors included being picked as All-Virginia for three years and being named as captain of that squad as a senior.

Twardzik, who was recruited by Old Dominion after leading his Middletown Pa., team to a 29-1 record and the Class B state championship, said the 1971 NCAA finish was his most satisfying memory in Old Dominion blue and white. “That and the NBA championship stand out.”

Twardzik has also been inducted into the ODU Sports Hall of Fame and the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame. He will be inducted into the Hampton Roads Hall of Fame on Oct. 30th, 2012 at the Norfolk Scope Arena.

Make Your November 10th Luncheon Reservations

Our Supporters and Sponsors


  • Hearndon Construction

    Hearndon Construction is known for affordable, new single-family homes.

  • Material Handling Supply, Inc.

    Your one-stop material handling supplies, new and used forklifts, storage, shelving and equipment dealer.

  • Chesapeake Regional Medical Center

    A local, independent, community-focused organization, offers area residents high-quality, technologically advanced health care delivered by people who display their care, concern and compassion.

  • Priority Auto Group

    Located in Virginia and North Carolina, Priority Auto Group is proud to be one of the premier auto groups in the area.

  • Towne Bank

    Community bank with a great hometown spirit.

  • Precon Marine, Inc.

    Diversified marine contractor specializing in heavy marine construction, waterfront construction and related services throughout the East Coast area and abroad.

Copyright 2014 Chesapeake Sports Club | All Rights Reserved by Websites Just For You